Judo

Mix up your old workout routine and get involved in a Recreation Class through the ARC! Judo begins on October 15th, so you have plenty of time and no excuse not to be there! This class is held from 6:00 – 8:00 pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10/15 – 11/19 in the Mat Room of Peterson Gym.

This beginning study of grappling Martial arts is a great workout and introduction into traditional Kodokan Judo. There is a heavy emphasis on practical Judo/Jiu Jitsu as well, since the instructor, John Ramos, is a fourth (Yodan) degree Black Belt in Jiu Jitsu. These weekly classes will also grant students experience with command and control techniques derived from the art of Dumong, a traditional Filipino style of wrestling.

Judo 1

Rec Class Lead Aimee Orozco had the opportunity to speak with Sean Papenhausen, a dedicated Judo student about his experience with this form of martial arts and recreation classes through the ARC.

1.) Are you an SDSU student? If so, what year are you and what is your major?

Yes, I am a junior at SDSU and I am majoring in Environmental Engineering.

2.) How many semesters have you participated in the ARC’s Judo Rec Class?

I have been a member of the Judo Rec class for six semesters.

3.) Why did you choose Judo over all of the other Martial Arts?

I chose judo because it teaches the fundamental skills involved in all martial arts; balance, timing, and how to defend against or redirect an opponent’s movement.

4.) Have you made new friends/relationships/connections because of the class? Please explain.

Yes, since I joined the class I have gone to several tournaments including a Karate tournament in Ocean Beach were students of many different art forms compete in a sparring match where you earn points based off of how many times you strike your opponent. I met people from many different areas, some of which had even been international competitors and had participated in the Olympics.

5.) What is the most rewarding part of Judo?

I find that the most rewarding aspect of participating in judo is the level of confidence I have in myself. Since I started, I no longer fear speaking and/or interacting with other people and I can even speak in front of large groups of people, an action that I had previously thought impossible.

6.) What is your current belt ranking? Have you moved up in your time at Rec Judo?

I started out from scratch, having no experience in any form of martial arts and have since received the rank of Son Que Brown. In another few months I hope to achieve the next rank.

Judo 3

Interview By: Aimee Orozco
Photos By: Jared Kebler
Article By: Kayla Heaviside

Leave a Reply

